## PRESS RELEASE

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

At its November 18, 2016 meeting, the governing board of the Voluntary Interdistrict Choice Corporation – (VICC) which coordinates the transfer of St. Louis students to St. Louis County schools and from County schools to City magnet schools -- voted to wind down the program with one final, five-year extension with reduced enrollment following the 2018/19 school year. Race-based school desegregation programs are not intended to continue in perpetuity and this one was originally designed to have a finite existence.

Currently, the 12 participating county districts have agreed to allow all transfer students to continue in their schools through graduation, meaning kindergartners admitted for 2018/19, for example, could remain in the program through 2032. This final, five-year extension will permit enrollment of approximately 1,000 new students in county school districts through 2023/24. Priority will be given to siblings of students already enrolled, and once in the program students may continue through graduation in their participating district if they wish.

"The VICC transfer program has brought tremendous benefits to both city students and county school districts," said David Glaser, chief executive officer. "St. Louis students have had access to excellent educational opportunities while county districts have furthered important educational goals including racial and socioeconomic diversity, which is so important for our region and nation as a whole."

The transfer program, which has brought more than 60,000 African-American students to suburban schools since it began in the early 1980s, stemmed from a federal lawsuit. The case also prompted the establishment of magnet schools in the city which white county students could attend.

Following settlement of the case, the program has been extended several times by the VICC governing board.

Superintendents of participating districts make up the governing board, including Affton, Bayless, Brentwood, Clayton, Hancock Place, Kirkwood, Mehlville, Parkway, Rockwood, Special School District, Valley Park, Webster Groves and St. Louis Public Schools.